Joseph Crnko
Photo © Yuen Lui Studio

Joseph Crnko

Associate Conductor for Choral Activities

Joseph Crnko joined the Seattle Symphony as the Associate Conductor for Choral Activities in September 2007. He is in his 30th year as Music Director of the Northwest Choirs, the Northwest’s premier youth choral organization, which includes both the Northwest Boychoir and Vocalpoint! Seattle. In this time, the Northwest Choirs has established itself as a prominent member of the Pacific Northwest performing arts community, sharing the stage regularly with the Seattle Symphony in addition to other area professional arts organizations.

Crnko regularly conducts orchestral and choral recording sessions for movie and video game soundtracks. Among his many projects are the films The Last Stand, Let Me In, Boondock Saints, The Celestine Prophecy, and such video games as Halo, Medal of Honor and World of Warcraft.

Crnko has served as Music Director for Civic Light Opera in Seattle and for productions with Alaska Light Opera Theatre, Evergreen Theatre Conservatory, Seattle Children’s Theatre and the Professional Actors Training Program at the University of Washington.

Crnko holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Percussion Performance from CSU Sacramento, and a Master’s Degree in Instrumental Conducting from the University of Washington, where he studied with conductor Michel Singher. Crnko lives in Seattle with his wife, Wendee, and their two children, Katharine and Nick.

Christina Siemens

Rehearsal Pianist

Chorale Members

  • Caitlin Anderson-Patterson
  • Laura Ash
  • Amanda Bender
  • Lolly Brasseur
  • Ellen Cambron
  • Emma Crew
  • Erin M. Ellis
  • Jacquelyn Ernst
  • Zanne Gerrard
  • Emily Han
  • Teryl Hawk
  • Anne Hudson
  • Caitlin Hutten
  • Sharon Jarnigan
  • Elizabeth Johnson
  • Katy Kaltenbrun
  • Seung Hee Kim
  • Lori Knoebel
  • Kori Loomis
  • Janelle Maroney
  • Megan McCormick
  • Alyssa K. Mendlein
  • Geraldine Morris
  • Kristen Nelson
  • Helen Odom
  • Nicolle Omiste
  • Margaret Paul
  • Sasha S. Philip
  • Kirsten Ruddy
  • Ana Ryker
  • Emily Sana
  • Barbara Scheel*
  • Laura A. Shepherd
  • Joy Chan Tappen
  • Catherine Thornsley
  • Toby Trachy
  • Andrea Wells

*Principal of Section

  • Cynthia Beckett
  • Ivy Rose Bostock
  • Nancy Brownstein
  • Carol Burleson
  • Terri Chan
  • Rachel Cherem
  • Christi Leigh Corey
  • Lauren Cree
  • Paula Corbett Cullinane
  • Aurora de la Cruz
  • Lisa De Luca
  • Robin Denis
  • Kaley Lane Eaton
  • Cindy Funaro
  • Carla J. Gifford
  • Amy Gleixner
  • Kelly Goodin
  • Catherine Haddon
  • Shreya Joseph
  • Inger Kirkman*
  • Sara Larson
  • Rachel Lieder Simeon
  • Monica Namkung
  • Erica J Peterson
  • Karis Pratt
  • Alexia Regner
  • Valerie Rice
  • Emily Ridgway
  • Dale Schlotzhauer
  • Darcy Schmidt
  • Carreen A. Smith
  • Kathryn Tewson
  • Paula Thomas
  • JoAnn Wuitschick
  • Mindy Yardy

*Principal of Section

  • Matthew Blinstrub
  • Joe Cook
  • Spencer Davis
  • Anton R. du Preez
  • David P. Hoffman
  • Jim Howeth
  • Neil Johnson
  • Kevin Kralman*
  • Patrick Le Quere
  • Ian Loney
  • James H. Lovell
  • Andrew Worthen Lyon
  • Andrew Magee
  • Lucky James Middaugh
  • Ed Morris
  • Sean Morse
  • Alexander Oki
  • James Pham
  • Vijay Ramani
  • Jonathan M. Rosoff
  • Bert Rutgers
  • Peter Schinske
  • Spencer Small
  • Max Willis

*Principal of Section

  • John Allwright
  • Jay Bishop
  • Hal Bomgardner
  • Carl Crafts
  • Andrew Cross
  • Darrel Ede
  • Morgan Elliott
  • Evan Figueras
  • Curtis Fonger
  • Steven Franz
  • David Gary
  • Raphael Hadac
  • Kelvin Helmeid
  • Rob Jones
  • Ronald Knoebel
  • Tim Krivanek
  • KC Lee
  • Thomas C. Loomis
  • Bryan Lung
  • Ken Rice
  • Martin Rothwell*
  • Edward Sam
  • Christopher Smith
  • Jim Snyder
  • Andrew Sybesma
  • Joseph To
  • Michael Uyyek
  • Jared White
  • Lavert Woodard

*Principal of Section