Browse by Date

 

Browse by Type

Beethoven Symphony No. 5

Masterworks >

The culmination of a two-year exploration of Beethoven’s symphonies and concertos, Ludovic Morlot puts his unique stamp on Beethoven’s fateful Fifth Symphony. Bartók’s Piano Concerto No. 2 is a brilliant work of rhythmic complexity and musical muscle.

Read more >

Buy Tickets

Saturday, 25 March, 2017 8:00PM

All-Rachmaninov

Masterworks >

No one steals your heart like Rachmaninov! From the dazzling brilliance of the First Piano Concerto to the seductive beauty of the Second Symphony this is a night devoted to the ultimate Russian Romantic and his influences.

Read more >

Buy Tickets

Thursday, 30 March, 2017 7:30PM

Buy Tickets

Friday, 31 March, 2017 12:00PM

Buy Tickets

Saturday, 1 April, 2017 8:00PM

Rachmaninov Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini

Masterworks >

"It’s hard not to be a little awestruck by the breadth of Stephen Hough’s passions, to say nothing of his talents. [He] is simply one of the most interesting musicians around." – Boston Globe. Stephen Hough joins the Seattle Symphony for Rachmaninov’s fiendish old melody, Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini.

Read more >

Buy Tickets

Thursday, 13 April, 2017 7:30PM

Buy Tickets

Saturday, 15 April, 2017 8:00PM

Morlot Conducts Bruckner

Masterworks >

Majestic and shimmering like the hulking form of Mount Rainier, Bruckner’s Fifth Symphony ascends to an otherworldly atmosphere of power and mystery. Bruckner’s Fifth is a stunning celebration of faith, awe and wonder at all of creation.

Read more >

Buy Tickets

Thursday, 20 April, 2017 7:30PM

Buy Tickets

Saturday, 22 April, 2017 8:00PM

Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1

Masterworks >

Tchaikovsky's iconic Piano Concerto is one of the best-known concertos of all time, filled with irresistible melodies and stunning virtuoso demands.

Read more >

Buy Tickets

Thursday, 27 April, 2017 7:30PM

Buy Tickets

Saturday, 29 April, 2017 8:00PM

Italian Masters

Masterworks >

Viva l’Italia! If you enjoy the bright sparkle of Vivaldi, come marvel at other hidden gems from the sun-drenched boot of southern Europe, a land of sensuous operas, fiery violinists and limitless jubilation in its crowd-pleasing music.

Read more >

Buy Tickets

Sunday, 7 May, 2017 2:00PM

Ravel's Magical Opera

Masterworks >

A rare, semi-staged performance of Ravel’s one-act opera. With charming text by the famed French novelist Colette and Ravel’s masterpiece score, L’enfant et les sortilèges (“The Child and the Spells”) is a rich fantasy of fairy tale characters, plants and little animals brought to life. Ravel is the original sampler, combining elements of ragtime, jazz, 18th century dance and lushness. A musical highpoint of the season not to be missed.

Read more >

Buy Tickets

Thursday, 1 June, 2017 7:30PM

Buy Tickets

Saturday, 3 June, 2017 8:00PM

Pekka Kuusisto Mendelssohn Violin Concerto

Masterworks >

Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto is a marvel of German precision that is sure to raise your pulse. Principal Guest Conductor Dausgaard brings us Nielsen, the renowned symphonist from Denmark, who creates ever-expanding horizons and soaring voices in his Third Symphony.

Read more >

Buy Tickets

Thursday, 8 June, 2017 7:30PM

Buy Tickets

Friday, 9 June, 2017 12:00PM

Buy Tickets

Saturday, 10 June, 2017 8:00PM

Strauss An Alpine Symphony

Masterworks >

An Alpine Symphony, Richard Strauss' last and largest tone poem, uses every vibrant color in the orchestral palette to depict 24 glorious hours atop the Austrian Alps. His Four Last Songs approach his own mortality with wisdom, beauty and grace.

Read more >

Buy Tickets

Thursday, 15 June, 2017 7:30PM

Buy Tickets

Saturday, 17 June, 2017 8:00PM

Mahler Symphony No. 5

Masterworks >

Mahler's colossal Fifth Symphony embraces an entire world of sound, from the heart-rending funeral march to the serene and loving Adagietto. Ligeti's monolithic Requiem goes beyond this world, as proven by its iconic appearance in the film 2001: A Space Odyssey.

Read more >

Buy Tickets

Thursday, 22 June, 2017 7:30PM

Buy Tickets

Friday, 23 June, 2017 8:00PM

Buy Tickets

Saturday, 24 June, 2017 8:00PM

Mahler Resurrection Symphony

Masterworks >

Songs of death and rebirth launch an awe-inspiring new season. Mahler’s “Resurrection” Symphony is a life-affirming journey that overwhelms you like a thunderbolt of clarity and awakening. Plus! Berlioz’s vivid depiction of Cleopatra’s downfall.

Read more >

Subscribe

Thursday, 21 September, 2017 7:30PM

Subscribe

Saturday, 23 September, 2017 8:00PM

Subscribe

Sunday, 24 September, 2017 2:00PM

Enigma Variations

Masterworks >

Musical imagination runs wild in Elgar’s Enigma Variations and Brahms’ Tragic Overture, two powerful expressions of private thoughts. Bartók’s First Piano Concerto, with its scintillating folksongs and nocturnal mysteries, shimmers like a Hungarian hall of mirrors in Jean-Efflam Bavouzet’s hands.

Read more >

Subscribe

Thursday, 5 October, 2017 7:30PM

Subscribe

Saturday, 7 October, 2017 8:00PM

Gidon Kremer in Seattle

Masterworks >

One of the world’s truly great violinists makes a rare visit to perform Schumann’s Violin Concerto, a work of angelic beauty. Music Director Ludovic Morlot leads Mendelssohn’s ode to Italy.

Read more >

Subscribe

Thursday, 12 October, 2017 7:30PM

Subscribe

Saturday, 14 October, 2017 8:00PM

Shostakovich Symphony No. 10

Masterworks >

Prokofiev’s most popular and vital piano concerto is well suited for the brilliant young Italian pianist Beatrice Rana, while Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony brings a dark irony to his world.

Note: the Saturday night subscription concert takes place on Sunday, October 29, at 2pm.

Read more >

Subscribe

Thursday, 26 October, 2017 7:30PM

Subscribe

Sunday, 29 October, 2017 2:00PM

Vivaldi Four Seasons

Masterworks >

Only Dmitry Sinkovsky, hailed as “fiery and agile” by The Seattle Times, can leap from a revenge aria showcasing his steely countertenor voice to the violin wizardry of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. He shares the spotlight with Seattle Symphony members in a spirited Concerto Grosso.

Read more >

Subscribe

Friday, 27 October, 2017 12:00PM