Beethoven's Ninth Symphony

Ludovic Morlot, conductor
Elisa Barston, violin
Nicole Cabell, soprano
Susan Platts, mezzo-soprano
Clifton Forbis, tenor
Eric Owens, bass
Eva Lucero & Patricio Touceda, Dancer
Seattle Symphony Chorale
Seattle Symphony

Piazzolla: Las cuatro estaciónes porteñas ("The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires") download audio sample
Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125, "Choral" download audio sample

Ludovic Morlot leads the Seattle Symphony in Beethoven’s monumental Ninth Symphony, featuring the Seattle Symphony Chorale and four distinguished vocal soloists. The festive program opens with Piazzolla’s The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, featuring Elisa Barston as soloist. This colorful, four-movement work — which blends the rhythms and moods of the Argentinean tango with references to Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons — will come to life as talented tango dancers perform onstage.

» Program Notes

Elisa Barston’s performance is generously underwritten by Paul Leach and Susan Winokur through the Seattle Symphony’s Principal Musicians Circle.

Bookmark and Share

Subscribers: To receive your discount, please login with your promotion code before selecting concerts. If you do not have an account or are unsure of your login information, please call the Ticket Office for assistance at 206.215.4747.

Performance Dates
Dec. 28, 2012 8:00 PM 
Dec. 29, 2012 8:00 PM 
Dec. 30, 2012 2:00 PM 

*All concerts are held in the S. Mark Taper Foundation Auditorium unless otherwise noted.