Morlot Conducts Shostakovich and Adams

Ludovic Morlot, conductor
Sergey Khachatryan, violin
Seattle Symphony

Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 99 download audio sample
John Luther Adams: Become Ocean (World Premiere)

Be the first in the world to hear John Luther Adams' Become Ocean, a Seattle Symphony commission inspired by the stunning waters of the Pacific Northwest. In the below video, Adams discusses his past as an environmental activist and what it means to be an environmental composer.

» Program Notes

The Seattle Symphony's commission of John Luther Adams’ composition is generously underwritten by Lynn and Brian Grant. The premiere of this piece is supported in part by a grant from the National Endowment of the Arts.

Sergey Khachatryan’s Thursday appearance is generously underwritten by Marcus and Pat Meier.

Bookmark and Share

Subscribers: To receive your discount, please login with your promotion code before selecting concerts. If you do not have an account or are unsure of your login information, please call the Ticket Office for assistance at 206.215.4747.

Performance Dates
Jun. 20, 2013 7:30 PM 
Jun. 22, 2013 8:00 PM 
Jun. 23, 2013 2:00 PM 

*All concerts are held in the S. Mark Taper Foundation Auditorium unless otherwise noted.