Sonic Evolution

Ludovic Morlot, conductor
Sir Mix-A-Lot, special guest
Pickwick, special guest
Seattle Symphony

Luís Tinoco: FrisLand (World Premiere)
Gabriel Prokofiev: Dial 1-900 Mix-A-Lot (World Premiere)
Sir Mix-A-Lot /orch. Gabriel Prokofiev: “Posse on Broadway” / “Baby Got Back”
Du Yun: Hundred Heads (World Premiere)
Pickwick /arr. David Campbell: “Brother Roland”
Pickwick /arr. David Campbell: “Hacienda Motel”
Pickwick /arr. David Campbell: “Creature Comforts” (World Premiere)

Sonic Evolution celebrates the past, present and future of music with brand-new symphonic compositions inspired by icons Bill Frisell, Ray Charles and Sir Mix-A-Lot, written by composers Luís Tinoco, Du Yun and Gabriel Prokofiev.

Following the performance, please join DJ Gabriel Prokofiev in the Samuel & Althea Stroum Grand Lobby for an alt-classical DJ-set, giving a taster of his ground-breaking Nonclassical Club Night.

» Program Notes

Press Releases:

May 1, 2014

Sonic Evolution is presented as part of the Seattle Symphony’s New Music WORKS initiative, supported in part by a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts. New Music WORKS features commissions, concerts and educational activities that use composition as a catalyst for collaboration and engagement in music.

Media Sponsor: KEXP.

Concert sponsored by CTI BioPharma Corp.

Bookmark and Share

Subscribers: To receive your discount, please login with your promotion code before selecting concerts. If you do not have an account or are unsure of your login information, please call the Ticket Office for assistance at 206.215.4747.

Performance Dates

*All concerts are held in the S. Mark Taper Foundation Auditorium unless otherwise noted.