Delta Air Lines Masterworks: Joshua Roman with the Seattle Symphony

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla, conductor
Joshua Roman, cello
Seattle Symphony

Prokofiev: Suite from Lieutenant Kijé, Op. 60 download audio sample
Mason Bates: Cello Concerto (World Premiere)
Tchaikovsky: Selections from Sleeping Beauty download audio sample

Seattle favorite Joshua Roman returns for the world premiere of innovative composer Mason Bates’ Cello Concerto. Tchaikovsky’s sublime Sleeping Beauty perfectly completes the evening’s program as we prepare for the holidays.

Pre-concert Talk presented one hour prior to each performance. Ask the Artist on Thursday, December 11, in the Samuel & Althea Stroum Grand Lobby following the concert.

» Program Notes

Mason Bates' Concerto for Cello is co-commissioned by the Seattle Symphony, Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra and Columbus Symphony.

2014–2015 Masterworks Season Sponsor: Delta Air Lines

Media Sponsor: Classical KING FM 98.1.

Bookmark and Share

Subscribers: To receive your discount, please login with your promotion code before selecting concerts. If you do not have an account or are unsure of your login information, please call the Ticket Office for assistance at 206.215.4747.

Performance Dates
Dec. 11, 2014 7:30 PM 
Dec. 12, 2014 12:00 PM 
Dec. 13, 2014 8:00 PM 

*All concerts are held in the S. Mark Taper Foundation Auditorium unless otherwise noted.