The Planets

Gerard Schwarz, conductor
Hyunah Yu, soprano
Paul Karaitis, tenor
Robert Gardner, bass-baritone
Women of the Seattle Symphony Chorale

Beethoven: Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21
Aaron Jay Kernis: Symphony No. 3, "Symphony of Meditations"
Holst: The Planets download audio sample

Hear the music of the spheres! This film score staple brings the gods of Rome to life with its brilliant orchestration. PLUS! The World Premiere of Aaron Jay Kernis' Symphony No. 3, "Symphony of Meditations," on June 25 & 26.

On June 27, Beethoven's Symphony No. 1 will replace the Kernis Symphony. Join us post-concert for fabulous FREE celebration in honor of Benaroya Hall's 10th Anniversary! RSVP required; call 206.215.4851 to reserve your spot!

Aaron Jay Kernis is the Music Alive Composer-in-Residence with the Seattle Symphony. Music Alive is a national residency program of the American Symphony Orchestra League and Meet The Composer. On June 27, Hyunah Yu, Paul Karaitis and Robert Gardner will not perform. The Women of the Seattle Symphony Chorale will perform The Planets.

Bookmark and Share

Subscribers: To receive your discount, please login with your promotion code before selecting concerts. If you do not have an account or are unsure of your login information, please call the Ticket Office for assistance at 206.215.4747.

Performance Dates
Jun. 25, 2009 7:30 PM 
Jun. 26, 2009 7:00 PM 
Jun. 27, 2009 7:00 PM 

*All concerts are held in the S. Mark Taper Foundation Auditorium unless otherwise noted.