Leslie Jackson Chihuly

Chair, Seattle Symphony Board of Directors

President and CEO, Chihuly Studio and Chihuly Workshop

Currently in her fourteenth year on the Seattle Symphony Board and in her ninth year as Chair, Leslie Jackson Chihuly has led the organization through a period of significant change, including the hiring of Music Director Ludovic Morlot, and President & CEO, Simon Woods. During this leadership transition, Leslie worked to re-position a treasured civic organization, while establishing integrity, transparency, collaboration and excellence at all levels. She revitalized the Board of Directors, created innovative fundraising events, raised the public profile and has positioned the organization to embark on a major five-year fundraising campaign to sustain the Seattle Symphony for future generations.

As President and CEO of Chihuly Studio and Chihuly Workshop, Leslie’s primary role is to ensure ongoing organizational strength to assist Dale Chihuly in realizing his vision, encompassing all aspects of his art, from unique large-scale commissions to museum exhibitions, individual artworks and editions.

She is currently on the Board of the Pilchuck Glass School and has chaired fundraising campaigns for the University of Washington Masters of Fine Arts program in glass, The Hope Heart Institute, and the Viola Chihuly Fund. In 2011 she was awarded the “Women of Influence” Award by the Puget Sound Business Journal.

Leslie graduated from Vassar College with a BA in English. She holds a Masters in International Studies from the Henry M. Jackson School at the University of Washington. Leslie and her husband, Dale Chihuly, have one son.


Seattle Symphony Board


Leslie Chihuly, Chair *

René Ancinas, Chair-Elect*

Jon Rosen, Secretary *

Michael Slonski, Treasurer*

Woody Hertzog, Vice Chair, Development*

Kjristine Lund, Vice Chair, Audiences & Communities*

Dick Paul, Vice Chair, Governance*

Stephen Whyte, Vice Chair, Finance


  • Marco Abbruzzese
  • Sherry Benaroya
  • James Bianco
  • Paula Boggs
  • Rosanna Bowles
  • Renée Brisbois
  • Isiaah Crawford
  • Susan Detweiler
  • Rebecca Ebsworth
  • Larry Estrada
  • Jerry Farley
  • Molly Gabel
  • Martin Greene
  • Jeremy Griffin
  • Terry Hecker
  • Jean-François Heitz*
  • Joaquin Hernandez
  • Parul Houlahan*
  • Douglas Jackson
  • Susan Johannsen
  • Aimee Johnson
  • Nader Kabbani
  • Viren Kamdar
  • Ronald Koo
  • Ryo Kubota
  • Stephen Kutz
  • Ned Laird*
  • Paul Leach*
  • Brian Marks
  • Michael Mitrovich
  • Hisayo Nakajima
  • Cookie Neil
  • Nancy Neraas
  • Laurel Nesholm*
  • Jay Picard
  • Dana Reid*
  • Elisabeth Beers Sandler
  • Jim Schwab
  • Robert Wallace

* Executive Committee


Zartouhi Dombourian-EbyMusician Representative

Jonathan KarschneyMusician Representative

Bonnie PetersonPresident, Seattle Symphony Volunteers

Sasha S. PhilipPresident, Seattle Symphony Chorale

Simon Woods, President & CEO, Seattle Symphony

Lifetime Directors

Llewelyn G. PritchardChair

  • Richard Albrecht
  • Susan Armstrong
  • Robert Ash
  • William Bain
  • Bruce Baker
  • Cynthia Bayley
  • Alexandra Brookshire
  • Phyllis Byrdwell
  • Phyllis Campbell
  • Mary Ann Champion
  • Robert Collett
  • David Davis
  • Nancy Evans
  • Dorothy Fluke
  • David Fulton
  • Jean Gardner
  • Ruth Gerberding
  • James Gillick
  • Gerald Grinstein
  • Patty Hall
  • Cathi Hatch
  • Steven Hill
  • Ken Hollingsworth
  • Patricia Holmes
  • David Hovind
  • Henry James
  • Hubert Locke +
  • J. Pierre Loebel
  • Kenneth Martin +
  • Yoshi Minegishi
  • Marilyn Morgan
  • Isa Nelson
  • Marlys Palumbo
  • Sally G. Phinny
  • James Raisbeck
  • Sue Raschella
  • Bernice Rind
  • Jill Ruckelshaus
  • H. Jon Runstad
  • Martin Selig
  • John F. Shaw
  • Linda Stevens
  • Patricia Tall-Takacs
  • Marcus Tsutakawa
  • Cyrus Vance, Jr.
  • Karla Waterman
  • Ronald Woodard
  • Arlene Wright

+ In Memoriam

Seattle Symphony Foundation Board

Jean-Francois HeitzPresident

Kathleen WrightVice President

Michael SlonskiTreasurer

  • James Bianco
  • Brian Grant
  • Leslie Jackson Chihuly
  • J. Pierre Loebel
  • Laurel Nesholm
  • David Tan
  • Muriel Van Housen
  • Rick White
Benaroya Hall Board

Ned LairdPresident

Mark ReddingtonVice President

Nancy B. EvansSecretary

Michael C. SlonskiTreasurer

  • Dwight Dively
  • Jim Duncan
  • Chris Martin
  • Tom Owens
  • Fred Podesta
  • Leo van Dorp


Simon Woods, President & CEO, Seattle Symphony

Zartouhi Dombourian-EbyMusician Representative