Krishna Thiagarajan

​President & CEO, Leslie Jackson Chihuly Chair

Dr. Krishna Thiagarajan, DMA, was appointed Chief Executive of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra (RSNO) in August 2015. Thiagarajan joined at a pivotal moment in the Orchestra’s 125-year history, overseeing the final stages of the company’s move from Henry Wood Hall — its home since 1979 — to the purpose-built, state-of-the-art rehearsal, recording and education facilities of the RSNO Centre in the heart of Glasgow, Scotland’s UNESCO City of Music.

Under his leadership, the RSNO has increased the number of its performances, both at home and abroad; enjoyed the highest average audience figures for a generation; enjoyed year-over-year growth in earned and contributed income; and developed its international reputation, notably through a discography which has attracted global recognition. The RSNO has also become one of the busiest recording ensembles in Europe, producing critically acclaimed releases on the Sony, Chandos, Linn and Dutton labels. Also under Thiagarajan’s leadership, the RSNO has completed successful tours of the U.S., Spain and central Europe, and is now preparing for its second China tour later this year.

Thiagarajan oversaw two new appointments to the RSNO artistic team last year. In October 2018 Thomas Søndergård will take over as Music Director, having been the Orchestra’s Principal Guest Conductor since 2012, and Elim Chan also begins her tenure as Principal Guest Conductor this fall.

The Orchestra’s CD, Astar, which was distributed by Scotland’s Registry Office to every child born in Scotland (approximately 85,000), was developed into an app last year in collaboration with the University of Abertay Dundee and distributed as part of the Scottish Government’s Baby Boxes scheme, an element of RSNO Music for Life, an initiative launched in 2016 which provides access to high-quality music-making experiences for all, regardless of age or ability.

Thiagarajan joined the RSNO from the New York-based Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, where he served as Executive Director since January 2013. While there he was responsible for increasing audiences, including sold-out performances at Carnegie Hall; commissioning new work; touring the Orchestra to Japan, Colombia and throughout Europe; ensuring financial stabilization; and overseeing the Orchestra’s first self-produced recording.

Previously Thiagarajan served as President of Symphony in C ­— one of three professional training orchestras in the United States — and was Senior Director of Artistic Operations for the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra.

Born in Karlsruhe, Germany, Thiagarajan trained as a pianist and performed throughout the U.S., Europe and Asia. He graduated from Indiana University with bachelor’s and master’s degrees in music, where he studied with Leonard Hokanson and taught as an associate instructor of piano. He later received his doctorate from the University of Maryland, College Park where he studied with pianists Santiago Rodriguez and André Watts.

Administrative Staff

Senior Management Team

Krishna Thiagarajan, President & CEO

Charlie Wade, Senior Vice President of Marketing & Business Operations

Jennifer Adair, Vice President & General Manager

Rosalie Contreras, Vice President of Communications

Elena Dubinets, Vice President of Artistic Planning & Creative Projects

Laura Reynolds, Vice President of Education & Community Engagement

Cheronne Wong, Vice President & Chief Financial Officer

Executive Office

Margaret Holsinger, Executive Assistant to the President & CEO, Office & Board Relations Manager

Alex Shiley, Office Assistant

Artistic Planning

Paige Gilbert, Manager of Artistic Planning & Popular Programming

Michael Gandlmayr, Assistant Artistic Administrator

Stephanie Torok, Senior Manager of Creative Projects & Community Engagement

Dmitriy Lipay, Director of Audio and Recording

Rose Gear, Personal Assistant to the Music Director & Artistic Coordinator

Orchestra and Operations

Kelly Woodhouse Boston, Director of Operations

Ana Hinz, Production Manager

Liz Kane, Assistant to Vice President & General Manager

Scott Wilson, Personnel Manager

Keith Higgins, Assistant Personnel Manager

Robert Olivia, Associate Librarian

Jeanne Case, Librarian

Joseph E. Cook, Technical Director

Jeff Lincoln Assistant Technical Director

John Roberson Audio Manager

Johnny Baca, Chris Dinon, Aaron Gorseth, Michael Schienbein, Ira Seigel, Stage Technicians

Education & Community Engagement

Amy Heald, Collaborative Learning Manager

Jérémy Jolley, Artistic Collaboration Manager

Katie Hovde, Program Associate

Emily Miller, Melvin Moore, Discovery Coordinators


Shiva Shafii, Public Relations Manager

Heidi Staub, Managing Editor

James Holt, Digital Content Manager

Andrew Stiefel, Social Media & Content Manager

Marketing & Business Operations

Christy Wood, Senior Director of Marketing and Sales

Rachel Spain, Marketing Manager

Michelle Cheng, Digital Marketing Manager

Amanda DiCesare, Marketing Administrator

Barry Lalonde, Director of Digital Products

Herb Burke, Jason Huynh, Digital Project Managers

Gerry Kunkel, Corporate & Concierge Accounts Manager

Stephanie Tucker, Senior Graphic Designer

Jadzia Parker, Graphic Designer

Forrest Schofield, Group Services Manager

Joe Brock, Retail Manager

Christina Hajdu, Sales Associate

Nina Cesaratto, Ticket Services Manager

Brian Goodwin, Ticket Office Coordinator

Asma Ahmed, Mary Austin, James Bean, Jennifer Boyer, Danela Butler, Katrina Fasulo, Michelle Grinstead, Hannah Hirano, Mike Obermeyer, Gabrielle Turner, Emerson Wahl, Tobie Wheeler Ticket Services Associates


Matt Laughlin, Director of Facility Sales

James Frounfelter, Adam Moomey, Event & Operations Managers

Nick Cates, Concert & Event Production Manager

Sophia El-Wakil, Event Operations Associate

Keith Godfrey, House Manager

Tanya Wanchena, Assistant House Manager & Usher Scheduler

Milicent Savage, Patrick Weigel, Assistant House Managers

Dawn Hathaway, Lynn Lambie, Mel Longley, Ryan Marsh, Markus Rook, Head Ushers

Laura Banks, Bill Coniff, Katrina Swensen, Carole Unger, Assistant Head Ushers


Aaron Sumpter, Development Officer, Assistant to VP of Development

Renee Duprel, Associate Vice President of Development (Campaign)

Paul Gjording, Senior Major Gift Officer (Foundations & Government Relations)

Betsy Groat, Campaign Operations Manager

Kent Anderson, Donor Relations Officer

Dinah Lu, Campaign Coordinator

Becky Kowals, Director of Major Gifts and Planned Giving

Marsha Wolf, Senior Major Gift Officer

Amy Bokanev, Michael Maniaci, Major Gift Officers

Alexa Bayouk, Madyson Ellars, Development Coordinators (Major Gifts)

Megan Hall, Director of Development Operations

Martin K. Johansson, Communications & Grants Manager

Kathleen Shin, Annual Fund Coordinator

Peter Gammell, Director of Corporate Development & Special Events

Molly Gillette, Special Events Officer

Jessica Kittams, Stewardship Events Officer

Ryan Hicks, Corporate Development Manager

Finance & Facilities

Megan Spielbusch, Accounting Manager

Amy Rutherford, Payroll/AP Accountant

Jordan Bromley, Staff Revenue Accountant

Olivia Fowler, Staff Accountant

Bernel Goldberg, General Counsel

Tyler Ciena, Facilities Director

Grant Cagle, Facilities Manager

Damien De Witte, Senior Building Engineer

Rodney Kretzer, Building Engineers

Willa McAllister, Facilities Coordinator

Human Resources

Kathryn Osburn, Human Resources Manager